Konferenssi estetiikan käsitteistä Portugalissa aiheena “disinterestedness”



October 29-31, 2015

Universidade do Minho (Braga, Portugal), Instituto de Letras e Ciências Humanas

After Valladolid in 2014, Braga will host the second Iberian Meeting on Aesthetics. These meetings intend to foster the collaboration between Portuguese and Spanish scholars on philosophical aesthetics, as well as the promotion and open discussion of rigorous research in the field. This year’s edition is devoted to the topic of “aesthetic concepts”. Jerome Stolnitz once considered “disinterestedness” to be the only truly aesthetic concept available since all others were either misconceptions or metaphorical transfers from other philosophical areas. This meeting proposes an opportunity to reassess the use of a wide range of concepts with which philosophers have been seeking to apprehend the aesthetic phenomena.

Keynote speakers: Carlos João Correia (University of Lisbon), Ana García Varas (University of Zaragoza), Arto Haapala (University of Helsinki)

We invite philosophers and scholars to submit 700 word abstracts for papers in philosophical aesthetics, particularly (but not exclusively) on matters related to the topic of “aesthetic concepts”, including

“Aesthetic semantics”
“Philosophy of art criticism”
“History of aesthetics”
“Art in the age of pluralism”
“Artistic interpretation”

Presentation of papers: 30 minutes plus 15 minutes of discussion
Portuguese, English, and Spanish will be official languages at the conference.

Organizers: Vítor Moura (University of Minho), Nuno Crespo (New University of Lisbon) and María José Alcaraz (University of Murcia)

Scientific Committee:

Anna Christina Ribeiro (Texas Tech University)
Antonio Molina (University of Seville)
Francisca Pérez Carreño (University of Murcia)
Gerard Vilar (University Autónoma de Barcelona)
João Maria André (University of Coimbra)
João Pedro Cachopo (New University of Lisbon)
Sixto Castro (University of Valladolid)
Vicente Jarque (University of Castilla- La Mancha)

Correspondence and submissions:

Vítor Moura, Departamento de Filosofia, Universidade do Minho

Deadline: June 15, 2015.
Acceptance by July 31, 2015.